About the Town and Government

Town of Tarboro Government

Tarboro operates under a Council-Manager form of government. The Mayor is elected at-large on a non-partisan basis for a four-year term. Eight Council Members are elected from wards on a non-partisan basis for four-year staggered terms. A professional manager is employed to administer the operation of the Town. A team of seven department heads assist the manager. The Town government provides leadership and encourages involvement.